RSS

December 30, 2011 – great gray owl

30 Dec

Back in the early 90’s, I saw a GREAT GRAY OWL.  It was up near Tobermory, on the Bruce Peninsula.  I was thrilled.  I have never seen another one, until today. 

This northern, mostly boreal owl, occasionally dips southward some winters.  This year one has shown up along a country road near Kingsville, Ontario.  It has been frequently this area since just before Christmas.  This is the mostly southernly record in Ontario for this species.

It is the largest of Canada’s owl species, but feeds mostly on mice and small rodents.

Today there were numurous people with binoculars, cameras and scopes, standing around in awe and wonder of this magnificent bird.  It is only a 2-lane road and the cars have to take turns maneuvering thru that busy portion of the road.  It has been like this every day since the bird was discovered.

I wonder how long the bird will remain in the area. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “December 30, 2011 – great gray owl

  1. Bob Zeller

    December 30, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    David, those are gorgeous photos. Wow! I love owls, but except for the Great Horned that we see frequently, I have never seen another one of any species. Except a couple of years ago I got a quick glimpse through some trees of a Barn Owl. But it flew in an instant. But I have seen so many in pictures. Particularly I have seen some gorgeous photos of a Snow Owl. I am anxious to see if you can get one. You are lucky to have such of an avian variety where you live, too. Especially the various raptors.

     
 
