RSS

December 29, 2011 – afternoon drive

29 Dec

The end of the year is fast-approaching; so, too, is the new year.  I am trying to take advantage of the time I have before I have to start back to work (Jan 2nd)  This afternoon, I drove west of town to where the SNOWY OWLS were seen over the Christmas weekend.  I could not find one today.  From there I drove down to Melbourne to see what might be around.  NORTHERN HARRIERS, ROUGH-LEGGED HAWKS and RED-TAILED HAWKS were scattered around in the area.

I took this picture of a RED-TAILED HAWK.

When I got home I checked out the birds at my feeder and saw a SHARP-SHINNED HAWK come gliding in across the marsh.  He pulled up and landed on the brush pile out behind the house.  But before I could get my camera, it was GONE!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “December 29, 2011 – afternoon drive

  1. Bob Zeller

    December 29, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Hi, David. I can see you are having fun birding up there. Great shot of the Red-tailed Hawk.

    Bob

     
  2. Blake Mann

    December 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Those Snowy Owls seem to move around! I did see one south of Wallaceburg today (where it was on Saturday!). Where was it Tuesday??

     
 
