RSS

December 7, 2011 – snowy owl in a field along the kimbal sideroad

07 Dec

This morning was superb.  As planned, I left the house fairly early – 8:30 AM.  I drove up to Seed Road and looked for SNOWY OWLS.  No luck here.  Then I drove into Sarnia and followed the St. Clair River down to Sombra.  I always enjoy driving along the river, especially in the winter.  It is even better when there is alot of ice as ducks, swans, geese and gulls congregate and make for fairly easy viewing.

From here, I headed towards Wallaceburg, driving along the back roads.  In one of the fields, there were about 25 TUNDRA SWANS milling about.  That was certainly a nice sight.  I was hoping to catch sight of some SANDHILL CRANES as I’ve heard that they are in the area.  But I find them.

From Wallaceburg, I drove north on the Kimbal Sideroad.  A beautiful SNOWY OWL was spotted along here out in the middle of a field.  I took this picture of the owl.

There have been numerous sightings of SNOWY OWLS in southwestern Ontario this fall/winter.  Every 4 or 5 years it seems there is a shortage of food in their home turf and many of these beautiful creatures head south.  It appears that this may be one of those years. 

From there, I continued north to Bentpath Line and headed over towards the Shetland Conservation Area.  The gate was locked so I walked the long driveway back into the park area.  And a real nice sight back in there.

Also saw numerous RED-TAILED HAWKS and a few ROUGH-LEGGED HAWKS perched and flying along the fields and back-roads on the way back to Strathroy.  A very memorable morning.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “December 7, 2011 – snowy owl in a field along the kimbal sideroad

  1. Bob Zeller

    December 7, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    The Snowy Owl is the most beautiful owl, I think. I have never seen one, and probably never will, but I sure enjoy seeing photog of them such as yours. Thanks for sharing it, Dave. 🙂

     
  2. Blake Mann

    December 7, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    The Snowy will probably stay a while. This location seems to attract them every irruption year.
    I think the Sandhills left on Sunday. I haven’t seen them since!

     
  3. Blake Mann

    December 8, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I retract that last statement!
    Late today I made a run to specifically look for Sandhills. They were on Stewart Line, but close to hwy 40! Same bunch I guess as there are about 70. I don’t know where they go during the daytime.
    Couldn’t find the Snowy Owl late today, but no doubt it is still about.

     
  4. Ruth

    December 8, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Nice find!