RSS

December 2, 2011 – follow-up for the day

02 Dec

This morning, I went into London as planned.  Had breakfast with a friend and then headed over to Costco and purchased the light bulbs for the new house.  (Also picked up a doggie bed for Abby)  The place was quite busy with holiday shoppers.  You never know who you are going to run into amongst all those shoppers. 

This afternoon I drove some back roads to look for birds.

RED-TAILED HAWK near Melbourne

I drove down Seed Road to look for SNOWY OWLS but there were none to be seen.  However, I did find a big flock of SNOW BUNTINGS (500+).  Then I drove the back roads down towards Melbourne.  I saw several NORTHERN HARRIERS.  Down towards Melbourne I saw a number of RED-TAILED HAWKS and a couple of ROUGH-LEGGED HAWKS.  Just before dusk I was VERY pleased and excited to see five SHORT-EARED OWLS hunting over a field on Hyndman Road.   It was a great way to end the day. 

ROUGH-LEGGED HAWK, near Melbourne

I’ll be back to check on them again in a couple of weeks.

 
Comments Off on December 2, 2011 – follow-up for the day

Posted by on December 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
