RSS

November 30, 2011 – the things I enjoy

30 Nov

Sometimes I sit down at the computer and open my blog, even though I am completely uncertain about what I’m going to write about.  But I just start typing anyway and what appears on the screen….well it is what it is.  And so it is tonight.  I worked 12 hours today.  My alarm goes off at 6 AM.  By the time I shower, have a cup of coffee, a bite of toast and watch a little of CNN to catch up on the current news, it is 7:15 and time for me to go out the door.  My work hours are 8 AM to 8 PM.  The time goes by fairly quickly at work because we are very busy and it is go, go, go.  When I get home in the evening, I make myself a bite to eat.  Nothing to extravagent  —  toast, a bagel, or a muffin.  I sit down here at the computer and read thru the blogs and web-sites I follow and write down”something” in my blog.  Sometimes I watch a television show before I head to bed to read and go to sleep.

Sometimes I ask myself why I have gone back to work.  After-all, I am retired from a long-term (30+ years) job.  I have a pension.  But I still have the ability to work.  Basically, I think it just comes down to making extra money and proving to myself that I can still do physical work and keep up with people a quarter or a third my age.  I don’t think I will keep it up for very long.  I am 63.  I can’t really see myself working past the age of 65. 

But working obviously cuts into my time.  For my first year of retirement I made up my mind that I would not seek employment.  But just do the things that I enjoy  —  read, walk, explore back-roads, take pictures, look for birds and other aspects of nature.  Now I don’t have much time for these things anymore.  I find myself constantly looking at my schedule, looking ahead to what days I have off, watching the long-range weather forecast, planning what to do in the weeks ahead, just trying to make the most of what little free time I have.  I just need to hang in there for a few more years and then I can get back to having more time for the things I enjoy.

Speaking of things I enjoy, I just watched a music video on YouTube by Adele.  This amazing 23-year-old girl from England has a wonderful voice.  I watched her video “Someone Like You”.  Very nice.  And now it is time for me to toddle off to bed.  Goodnight, my friends.

 
Comments Off on November 30, 2011 – the things I enjoy

Posted by on November 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
