RSS

November 12, 2011 – Texas Trip (day five and six) – updated

13 Nov

GREEN JAY at Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge

 
Today, our bus trip took us to the Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge.  This is a very neat place.  Lots of trails and several small lakes.  We walked the trails for about 4 hours.  Then back to town.  Bob and I hopped in the car and drove to the Mexican border.  Parked on the US side and walked over into Mexico.  It is like stepping into another world.  Everyone is trying to sell you something.  Every other store is a Pharmacy (cheap drugs), or a Optical place to get glasses, or a dental place to get your teeth fixed.  After walking up the main street for several blocks and back to the car, we headed to the Estero Llano Grande State Park.  This was another very neat place.  Lots of birds.
 
I tallied 70 species today.  And 4 of these were lifers:  LEAST GREGE, HOOK-BILED KITE, COMMOM PAURAQUE and BUFF-BELLIED HUMMINGBIRD.  I’m up to 21 lifers so far and this trip.  Whew!!!!  Alot of work.  But fun work.  I’m exhausted by the end of the day.  Doesn’t take me long to fall asleep and the wake-up calls come at 4:45 AM.  Think I’m nuts???  You don’t have to answer that question.
 
Bob Zoeller, I thought you might be interested to know that I met Linda Rockwell at the Festival.
 
Sunday morning we were up early again.  Our bus pulled away at 6 AM.  We were on our way to Bentsen State Park.  This is another really neat state park.  Visitors must park outside of the park and walk in.  There is a tram that will take visitors out to the various areas of the park.  But because of the festival status, we were able to ride our tour bus out to various stops.  At this point, I don’t have a species count for today.  But I know I got two more lifers:  ZONE-TAILED HAWK and CLAY-COLOURED THRUSH.
 
This was our final tour of the festival.  We were back in town shortly after noon and promptly left for an area just north of Corpus Christie.  We got here just before dark.  Tomorrow we are taking a boat trip out to see WHOOPING CRANES (besides some other birds).  Supposed to rain tonight and be cloudy tomorrow, with temperatures in the mid-70’s.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “November 12, 2011 – Texas Trip (day five and six) – updated

  1. Bob Zeller

    November 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Dave, I am so glad that your journalizing this trip. I am just as excited as you to read about your birding. 21 lifers. WOW! I did pick up a lifer this weekend myself. A Black Scoter that should be on either the Atlantic or Pacific coast, paid a visit near here. I saw it yesterday.

    I’m glad that you saw Linda. She has the blog called “Photo Feathers” that is on my blogroll. She sees some great stuff in New Mexic.

    Yes, we are all nuts.!!! (Us birders)

     
  2. Bob Zeller

    November 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I forgot, great picture of the Green Jay. Again I am jealous. I have never seen a green jay. That one is on my bucket list. 🙂

     
  3. Blake Mann

    November 13, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Sounds like a great trip Dave.
    You are not missing anything up here!

     
  4. Corralena

    November 17, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Some great birds in both places. I wish I’d been able to find someone to venture over to Mexico with me! It was very nice to meet you at the RGVBF. Perhaps next time we can do some birding together. . .

     
 
