RSS

November 7, 2011 – a warm afternoon

07 Nov

I was all packed and ready for my trip to Texas this morning, so this afternoon I took off for Joanies’ Woods and the vicinity.  An EAGLE was soaring high overhead.  I took a picture, but when I blew it up on the computer I couldn’t decide if it was a juvenile BALD EAGLE or a juvenile GOLDEN EAGLE.  Could not see the head.  But I’m leaning towards the GOLDEN.  There was also a NORTHERN SHRIKE, but I didn’t get a good look at it as it flew away.  There was a deer (doe) in the woods, well-camafloged.  BLUE JAYS put in an appearance almost everywhere you looked.  Mixed flocks of blackbirds were seen along the river.  AMERICAN ROBINS were found wherever there were wild grapes or other berries.  A WHITE-BREASTED NUTHATCH was heard.  A HAIRY WOODPECKER was very co-operative.  As well, a RED-BELLIED WOODPECKER was heard in Joanies’ Woods.

It was another nice fall day.  At one point the sun really came out and it felt downright warm.  A great day for a drive.  And one that will be remembered.

NOTE:  My next post will be from Harlingen, Texas.

 
Comments Off on November 7, 2011 – a warm afternoon

Posted by on November 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
