RSS

November 5, 2011 – Short-eared Owls

05 Nov

Good Morning, Good Morning.  It’s Saturday.  And another good looking day here in Southwestern Ontario.  This morning I am going to work some more in the garage.  Then along towards noon I am going to take a trailer load of stuff to the dump.  This afternoon, after lunch, I will head over to the Conservation Area and walk around the trails.

Late yesterday afternoon, I drove down to Short-eared Owl country, south of Melbourne.  I parked the car, watched and waited.  It wasn’t until just before dusk that a SHORT-EARED OWL finally put in an appearance.  The owl flew around for awhile, offering good looks, until it disappeared in the darkness.  Just the one.  But I always believe that where there is one, there must be more in the area.  Traditionally, this area hosts a group of SHORT-EARS in the fall and winter.  Not sure where they come from.  Probably from up north somewhere.  They stay until sometime in March/April when they disappear and head back to their breeding grounds.  I will be monitoring their presence in the Melbourne area and will report on my findings each visit.

 
Comments Off on November 5, 2011 – Short-eared Owls

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.