RSS

October 22, 2011 – time is on my side (rolling stones)

22 Oct

Saturday.  Fall.  Partly sunny.  Good temperature for this time of year.  About 10° C.  I spent the morning boxing up books in my study.  Don’t want to leave things to the last minute.  No big rush, but plodding along at getting things ready for the move at the end of November.  This afternoon, I drove out in the countryside with my new camera.  Just looking around for birds to photograph.  I guess, like anyone with a new camera, you kind of go crazy snapping pictures.  Would help if I knew a little more about photography.  But it is a learning game.  All part of the thrill of the chase.  The pics I got today were not very good really.  But they are a start.  It was fun.  And isn’t that what it is all about anyway??  So here are some of the pics I took.

There were quite a few sparrows in the hedgerows. This WHITE-CROWNED SPARROW was among them.

 

Berries and grapes were everywhere along one of the trails I took today. CEDAR WAXWINGS and AMERICAN ROBINS were abundant.

 

A NORTHERN HARRIER was cruising over a field hunting. I like this shot.

 

Here is another view of the HARRIER that shows some of the underside.

 
These pictures are not anything to get excited about.  I realize that.  But I had fun taking them and hopefully as I learned more about the camera and how best to use it, the quality of the pictures will improve.  Time is on my side.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “October 22, 2011 – time is on my side (rolling stones)

  1. Bob Zeller

    October 22, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I would say, hey, those are not bad at all. As a matter of fact, I don’t have a Northern Harrier as good as that. Great start, Dave.

     
 
