RSS

September 5, 2011 – gumption, Cory, gumption (LOL)

05 Sep

Almost cold outside.  Certainly feels like fall.  Jacket and sweatshirt weather.  And more of it tomorrow.  Crawled out of bed at noon.  Showered and shaved.  Felt like a $100 again.  Forgetting that all the stores were closed, I drove to Shopper’s Drug Mart to get a couple of prescriptions filled.  Guess that will have to wait.  Then I grabbed a coffee and went over to the wetland area over near the arena.  Just sat there and drank my coffee.  Peaceful.  After supper, I hopped on my bike and went for a ride.

I have  been spending the evening downstairs in my study reading and listening to music.  In my book, I am reading the section about “gumption traps”.  Gumption is something that helps a person accomplish things.  And traps are the things that can get in the way of gumption.  I remember this part of the book from when I read it before, years ago.  I remember going on and on about gumption traps and how this idea would really bug my son, Cory.  Not sure if it really irritated him or if he was just putting me on.  Let it suffice to say that “gumption”, if it doesn’t come natural to you, should be cultivated. 

I have listened to the Holly Cole Trio, Shelby Lynne, Drive-by Truckers and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band CD’s tonight as I have reading.

On Tuesday morning I am heading to Hawk Cliff.  Conditions may not be the best, but there should be some movement.

I highly recommend supporting the Cornel Lab of Ornithology.  It is only $40/yr and you will receive a quarterly magazine called LIVING BIRD and another publication called BIRDSCOPE.  LIVING BIRD is a great magazine.  It has won numerous awards, very readable, quite interesting, whether you are a beginner birder and a die-hard.

https://secure3.birds.cornell.edu/SSLPage.aspx?pid=1068

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “September 5, 2011 – gumption, Cory, gumption (LOL)

  1. Bob

    September 6, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Well I see that you’ve changed the picture at the top of your blog Dave…it’s much cheerier than the last one, so I hope that means that you’re feeling a little more positive…

    Bob

     
 
